Dismiss it!

As days go by I have realized that unhealthy thoughts can devour my mind. Lately, it has been past experiences of youth or romantic relationships. Other thoughts have been about my lack of self confidence recently and what I failed to accomplish in my career. Meanwhile, when my mind is focusing on all the things I haven’t done or failed at, I also think of how unprepared I may be for the future, or dwell on what I don’t have now or yet. Sometimes I can drive yourself crazy with being so consumed with all the “shoulda coulda wouldas.” Recently, being able to become one with my emotions and seek guidance with positive forces in my life, I realized that I am now embarking on a new journey of renewing my mind. To do so, I will, one thought at a time, avoid the negatives. So here are the rules:

1. If the thought is not about something positive happening right now, then I must dismiss it. So that means to stop dwelling on the sorrows of past relationships with men that have hurt me, and even the bad decisions I made when it came to money, friendships and career choices. Forgetting allllll the regrets! This also means that I must also avoid thinking about my uneventful single life and my occasional feelings of loneliness (yes I am admitting it!). Let’s face it, single ladies sometimes don’t have as much fun as we think we do during those rainy days and quiet nights.

2. If the thought is interrupting my peace of mind, my solace, my serenity….then I must dismiss it. When you are working towards being truly happy with yourself, I see the importance of avoiding anything that brings drama. And it that means I am reminiscing on a part of my life filled with drama and unrest, then I can’t move forward. I have to realize that I am not there anymore and I am now at a peaceful place and need to stay there.

3. If the thought interferes with my productivity, then I have to dismiss it! I have so many things that I have to do throughout the day…laundry, shopping, work! etc. I can’t afford to let some petty negative thoughts stop me from my grind! This is one HUGE  mistake that I have made. Sometimes negative thoughts can be crippling to your creativity and the current goals you have in life. So, I am making an extremely conscious effort to avoid those bad thoughts! I would have to say that my pain, negative thinking, pessimism and cynicism have kept me from one of the things I really enjoyed doing….which is WRITING 🙂 This blog is a way for me to finally get back to that place. 🙂

I hope that 6 months down the line of doing this exercise I can finally start to see some progress. Either way, its all working on being beautiful, not just outside but inside.

Stay Beautiful Bellas!

quote

One thought on “Dismiss it!

  1. Pingback: God Dwells Within You | Why I Believe in God

Leave a comment